Course Schedule

The schedule is tentative and subject to change. Any changes to the schedule will be announced ahead of time.

All assignments are due at 11:59pm EST on the due date.

 

Welcome

Due Date

Assignment

Fri, Aug 30

Welcome and Introduction

IMPORTANT: Discussion forum post is due by noon on Fri, Aug 30 to give time for team members to complete assignment. Problem set, private discussion post, and quiz are due at 11:59pm

Exam 1 Content

Unit 1: Organization of the Nervous System

Read Chapter 1 and the Appendix

*The reading for next week is a little heavy. I suggest starting it early*

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Sept 5

Discussion

Fri, Sept 6

Problem Set

Unit 2 Neuronal Signaling

Read Chapters 2-4

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Sept 12

Discussion

Fri, Sept 13

Problem Set

Unit 3 Synaptic Transmission – TWO WEEKS TO COMPLETE

Read Chapters 5-7

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Sept 26

Discussion

Fri, Sept 27

Problem Set

 

Exam 1: Units 1-3

Due Date

Assignment

Tues, Oct 1

Unit 1-3 Muddiest Points

Tues, Oct 1

Exam 1

Thurs, Oct 3

Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 2 Content

Unit 4 Somatosensory & Pain

Read Chapters 9-10

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Oct 10

Discussion

Fri, Oct 11

Problem Set

Unit 5 Vision

Read Chapters 11-12

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Oct 17

Discussion

Fri, Oct 18

Problem Set

Unit 6 Auditory & Vestibular

Read Chapters 13-14; Actions and Innervations of Extraocular muscles pg. 448-450; Clinical Applications pg. 453-454

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Oct 24

Discussion

Fri, Oct 25

Problem Set

Unit 7 Chemical Senses

Read Chapter 15

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Oct 31

Discussion

Fri, Nov 1

Problem Set

Exam 2: Units 4-7

Due Date

Assignment

Tues, Nov 5

Unit 4-7 Muddiest Points

Tues, Nov 5

Exam 2

Thurs, Nov 7

Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 3 Content

Unit 8 Motor

Read Chapters 16-17

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Nov 14

Discussion

Fri, Nov 15

Problem Set

Unit 9 Basal Ganglia & Cerebellum

Read Chapters 18-19

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Nov 21

Discussion

Fri, Nov 22

Problem Set

Unit 10 Plasticity & Repair AND Unit 11 Emotion & Addiction

Read Chapters 8, 26, 31

Because of Thanksgiving, Units 10 and 11 will be open for two weeks. Please note that there are 2 separate Problem Set assignments and 2 separate discussions – they just have the same due date.

Due Date

Assignment

Thurs, Dec 5

Discussion (2 forums)

Fri, Dec 6

Problem Set (2 assignments)

Exam 3: Units 8-11

Due Date

Assignment

Tues, Dec 10

Unit 8-11 Muddiest Point

Tues, Dec 10

Exam 3

Thurs, Dec 12

Exam Corrections (Optional)