Course Schedule

The schedule is tentative and subject to change. Any changes to the schedule will be announced ahead of time. Unless otherwise noted, all assignments are due at 11:59 pm Eastern Time on the due date.

Each unit will open on Monday. The original Flipgrid post is due on Friday. The Flipgrid replies are due on Sunday.

Exams will be available for3 days: Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Pre-Exam Reflections are due on Monday. Post-Exam reflections and corrections (optional) are due on Sunday.

Welcome

Due Date Assignment
Tue, Jan 10 Intro Flipgrid post
Wed, Jan 11 Syllabus quiz, Flipgrid reply, Private chat to Casey

Exam 1 Content

Unit 1: Organization of the Nervous System

Read Chapter 1 and the Appendix pages A-1 through A-20 and A-27

Page 16 – 28 will give information about experimental methods we will talk about throughout the course. You can refer to this section as needed; you do not need to read it fully for Unit 1 content

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Jan 13 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Jan 15 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Unit 2 Neuron Structure and Function – TWO WEEKS TO COMPLETE

Read Chapters 2-4

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Jan 27 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Jan 29 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Unit 3 Synaptic Transmission – TWO WEEKS TO COMPLETE

Read Chapters 5-7

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Feb 10 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Feb 12 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Exam 1: Units 1-3

Due Date Assignment
Mon, Feb 13 Pre-Exam Reflection
Tue, Feb 14 – Thu, Feb 16 Exam 1
Sun, Feb 19 Post-Exam Reflection
Sun, Feb 19 Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 2 Content

Unit 4 Somatosensory & Pain

Read Chapters 9-10

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Feb 24 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Feb 26 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Unit 5 Vision

Read Chapters 11-12

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Mar 3 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Mar 5 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Week of March 3: Spring Break

Unit 6 Auditory & Vestibular

Read Chapters 13-14; Actions and Innervations of Extraocular muscles pg. 448-450; Clinical Applications pg. 453-454

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Mar 17 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Mar 19 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Unit 7 Chemical Senses

Read Chapter 15

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Mar 24 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Mar 26 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Exam 2: Units 4-7

Due Date Assignment
Mon, Mar 27 Pre-Exam Reflection
Tue, Mar 28 – Thu, Mar 30 Exam 2
Sun, Apr 2 Post-Exam Reflection
Sun, Apr 2 Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 3 Content

Unit 8 Motor – TWO WEEKS TO COMPLETE

Read Chapters 16-19

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Apr 14 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Apr 16 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Unit 9 Plasticity, Repair, and Emotion

Read Chapters 8, 26, 31

Due Date Assignment
Fri, Apr 21 Flipgrid Post
Sun, Apr 23 Flipgrid Replies (2)

Exam 3: Units 8-9

Due Date Assignment
Mon, Apr 24 Pre-Exam Reflection
Tue, Apr 25 – Thu, Apr 27 Exam 1
Sun, Apr 30 Post-Exam Reflection
Sun, Apr 30 Exam Corrections (Optional)