Course Schedule

The schedule is tentative and subject to change. Any changes to the schedule will be announced ahead of time. All assignments are due at 11:59pm Eastern Time on the due date.

Welcome

Due Date Assignment
Wed, Jan 8 Introduction post in welcome discussion forum (learn how to post in discussion forums)
Thurs, Jan 9

Team introduction assignment (learn how to submit assignments in class teams)

Intro quiz (learn how to take quizzes and exams in D2L)

Initial private chat with Casey (learn how to contact your instructor)

Exam 1 Content

Unit 1: Organization of the Nervous System

Read Chapter 1 and the Appendix

*The reading for next week is a little heavy. I suggest starting it early*

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Jan 14 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Jan 16 Discussion Replies

Unit 2 Neuronal Signaling

Read Chapters 2-4

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Jan 21 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Jan 23 Discussion Replies

Unit 3 Synaptic Transmission – TWO WEEKS TO COMPLETE

Read Chapters 5-7

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Feb 4 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Feb 6 Discussion Replies

Exam 1: Units 1-3

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Feb 11 Content Learning Reflection 1
Tues, Feb 11 – noon, Wed, Feb 12 Exam 1
Fri, Feb 14 Exam Reflection 1
Fri, Feb 14 Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 2 Content

Unit 4 Somatosensory & Pain

Read Chapters 9-10

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Feb 18 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Feb 20 Discussion Replies

Unit 5 Vision

Read Chapters 11-12

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Feb 25 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Feb 27 Discussion Replies

Spring Break March 2 through March 6

Unit 6 Auditory & Vestibular

Read Chapters 13-14; Actions and Innervations of Extraocular muscles pg. 448-450; Clinical Applications pg. 453-454

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Mar 10 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Mar 12 Discussion Replies

Unit 7 Chemical Senses

Read Chapter 15

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Mar 17 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Mar 19 Discussion Replies

Exam 2: Units 4-7

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Mar 24 Content Learning Reflection 2
Tues, Mar 24 Exam 2
Thurs, Mar 26 Exam Reflection 2
Thurs, Mar 26 Exam Corrections (Optional)

Exam 3 Content

Unit 8 Motor

Read Chapters 16-17

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Mar 31 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Apr 2 Discussion Replies

Unit 9 Basal Ganglia & Cerebellum

Read Chapters 18-19

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Apr 7 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Apr 9 Discussion Replies

Unit 10 Plasticity & Repair

Read Chapters 8, 26

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Apr 14 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Apr 16 Discussion Replies

Unit 11 Emotion & Addiction

Read Chapters 31

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Apr 21 Discussion Prompt Post
Thurs, Apr 23 Discussion Replies

Exam 3: Units 8-11

Due Date Assignment
Tues, Apr 28 Unit 8-11 Muddiest Point
Tues, Apr 28 Exam 3
Thurs, Apr 30 Exam Corrections (Optional)